What Should I do if my workers’ compensation claim was denied?
If you have filed a workers’ compensation claim in Connecticut and it has been denied, you are probably feeling frustrated and uncertain about how you will make ends meet while you’re away from work. Employers often deny claims in an attempt to save money, leaving you to fend for yourself. If your Connecticut workers’ compensation claim has been rejected by your employer you can resolve it informally with the commissioner. If it was denied after a formal hearing you can file an appeal with legal assistance from our law firm, you can build a stronger case for compensation that is more likely to be successful.
My employer has sent me a Form 36 to terminate, modify, or suspend my workers’ compensation benefits. What does this mean? What should I do about it?
If your employer has sent you a Form 36 to modify, suspend, or terminate your workers’ compensation benefits, you should act without delay. You have 15 days to file an objection, and you should. If you require additional time to fully recover from your work-related injuries, you should seek legal counsel for advice on how to best respond to the petition. This point is critical because the way in which you respond to the petition will likely have a significant impact on the eventual resolution of your case.
- Form 36 Notice of Intent to Reduce or Discontinue Payments – Your employer files a petition to modify workers’ compensation as an attempt to the Workers’ Compensation Commissioner to reduce or discontinue your overall benefits. The explanation for the request will be included with the Form 36, and often involves a statement from a health care provider which indicates that your injuries are no longer as serious as they previously were, or as they were previously believed to have been, and therefore you do not require the level of compensation which was previously approved. You should not personally respond to a Form 36 to modify your workers’ compensation benefits, but instead call our office immediately for legal assistance. It is important that you do not contact your employer, your employer’s insurance company, the health care provider, or anyone else to discuss your workers’ compensation case before speaking to an attorney. Remember, you have 15 days to file an objection to a Form 36 and you should immediately object with an attorney’s assistance.
If you have received a petition to modify, suspend, or eliminate your workers’ compensation benefits contact our Hartford workers’ compensation attorneys today for a free consultation and case evaluation. We will be happy to provide you with your legal options and help your fight to retain your benefits. Call us toll free at (800) 330-4988 or (860) 522-7044, or contact us online for a free phone consultation.